We tried the new Betty Crocker GF Brownie mix. It was pretty good. It’s mostly sugar. I’m sure my hubby will want to make it again.
We Love Chex – a Gluten-Free romance July 4, 2009
As of June 1, there are now 6 Gluten-Free Chex cereals. Rice Chex, Corn Chex, Cinnamon Chex(my daughter’s favorite) Honey Nut Chex (my mother’s favorite), Chocolate Chex, and Strawberry Chex.
I cannot wait to try them all. Sadly, my Wal-mart does not carry Chocolate or Strawberry yet. But it is only a matter of time until I track them down. In the meantime, there are a ton more recipes (a total of 20) for Gluten Free Chex Mix. Check out this link.
A.K.’s GF Homemade Chocolate Cake Recipe (Scratch) April 17, 2009
A.K.’s GF Homemade Chocolate Cake Recipe (Scratch)
Don’t skimp on the chocolate and this homemade cake will always be a winner.
- 1 cup boiling hot water
- 2 oz unsweetened bakers chocolate
- 2 eggs
- 1 cup honey
- 1 cup sugar
- 2 tsp vanilla extract
- 1/2 cup applesauce
- 1/2 cup sour cream
- 1/2 cup soft butter
- 1 tbsp xanthan gum
- 2 tsp soda
- 1 tsp salt
- 1/2 cup cocoa
- 1/3 cup potato starch
- 2 cups brown rice flour
Preheat your oven to 350-degrees F. Melt the bakers chocolate in the hot water. Cream all the wet ingredients together. Mix in the dry ingredients.
Prepare a 9X13 cake pan and pour in your cake batter. Bake for 35-40 minutes until the center is done.
Product Review: Amber Lyn Fine Imported Chocolates March 21, 2009
Amber Lyn Fine Imported Chocolates are labeled Gluten Free. But are they really? The first ingredient, maltitol, is derived from wheat.
But first, a tangent about labeling. These chocolates are not imported, they are made in St George, Utah. Maltitol manufactured in the US is supposedly made from corn, so we can assume this maltitol was manufactured overseas. But that doesn’ make the chocolate “imported”. Last time I checked, no duties or tariffs were charged between St. George and Salt Lake. If we cannot trust that these chocolates are “imported” can we trust that they are gluten free?
According to their website we can. It reads, “All of our chocolate bars are gluten free. Although our Maltitol is derived from wheat, the gluten is extracted through the process of washing out the starch in the wheat. We use specific procedures of cleanliness to ensure there is no cross contamination between our truffles and the chocolate bars.”
That being said, I noticed on the celiac.com website that persons having trouble with gluten often have trouble with sugar alcohol as well. If you decide to try this chocolate, proceed with caution until you know how your body will react to the laxative effect the maltitol may have on your system.
Because my system had a severe reaction to the maltitol, I have sworn off this stuff. But C. –he’s the one with celiac in our family– continues to eat it without any of the reactions I had to it. He told me he gets only a little gurgle in his stomach, presumably from the maltitol.
Have you had a reaction to maltitol derived from wheat? Leave a comment and tell me about your experience.