Seek These Things

a blog discussing Celiac Disease, & the Gluten Free Diet, Books, Parenting, Politics, Religion, Pets, Product Reviews, and whatever else catches my interest

My Final Post November 12, 2009

Filed under: About the Author — seekthesethings @ 2:26 am
“I cannot say whether things will get better if we change; what I can say is they must change if they are to get better.”
–  Georg Christopher Lichtenberg

I have decided it is time to move. I am no longer the person I was when I began this blog. Each post is a snapshot in time of what I was, who I no longer am.

I am now the mother of an angel baby. For just a few weeks the heart of a new life beat within me. And then it did not. The experience has changed me in ways I never expected and could never imagine.

So today I am closing the blog on my old life, so that I can start anew. I hope these old posts give you the information you seek.

Heaven bless you and yours,

A.K.

 

Disjointed August 13, 2009

It’s been so long since I added a new post I feel like I am going to explode. I’ll try not to trip over myself as I jump from item to item.

Sleep Apnea, Insomnia, and Narcolepsy, Oh-my!

First, that lack of energy I’ve been feeling for a while that makes me sleep more hours than my baby; well it turns out it might be some kind of sleep disorder. I’ve worn the Oxygen monitor and slept in the just-try-and-sleep-with-all-these-wires-glued-to-your-head bed and waited a week and called my doctor and they “just got the test results this morning and we haven’t had time to review them.” Okay, I said, call me as soon as you review them. That was days ago, and in the meantime I’m supposed to take an anti-depressant that makes me super sick just so I don’t fall asleep in the afternoon. I’m a bit frustrated.

Disaster at the Outback Steakhouse

Second, C. and I went to the Outback restaurant to celebrate a special occasion. Let me warn you that if it is not on their GF menu, it is NOT Gluten Free. Our waiter made the mistake of telling us that because the Thunder Brownie is on the GF menu, the Thunder Brownie Drink was also GF. That was a big fat LIE of ignorance. It must be cross-contaminated the way it is made because it made C. sick. Also, despite the fact that C. ordered a GF meal, without the sauce (as specified on the GF menu), and the waiter claims to have punched in GF twice when he put in our order, the gluten-sauce still came out on C.’s plate, spilling over the sides of the cup onto his meat. And the waiter, to my astonishment, just picked up the sauce cup like that made it all better. He must have admitted the mistake to his manager when we started trying to clean the sauce off C.’s plate with one of their good napkins. The manager was very nice. She had her staff prepare another entree for C. But by the time it came out, I had finished my meal, which would have been cold if C. hadn’t insisted I eat it.

Read Any Good Books Lately?

As a matter of fact, yes I have. I am just finishing the Enola Holmes series. It’s considered teen fiction. I consider it grown-up without being vulgar. It has a definite feminist undercurrent, not to the detriment of the novels. All preaching regarding a woman’s place is done in character by the characters themselves.

I’ve also read How to Write a D*** Good Mystery Novel by James N. Frey (rhymes with guy). In it he talks about writing a journal entry in the voice of your character to understand their motivations better. His workbook heroine was sentenced to hard time for a crime she didn’t commit, on the testimony of her boyfriend who got a plea deal for his testimony against her. In prison she found a higher power, and is trying to live a peaceful life. In the journal entry she tell us what she would do if she ever ran into her x-boyfriend again. She answered honestly that she didn’t know what would happen and she hopes to never find out. I was amazed by how well Frey knew his characters limitations and I plan to use many of his techniques in my own writing.

Another Personal Note

This time about living arrangements. I am still with the in-laws, but there is an end in site. Recently we took our house off the market. We are in the middle of a refinance. And once we do, we should be financially capable of paying for food again instead of spending all our money on credit card debt. I admit I have mixed feelings about this. I’m going to miss living with my Mother-in-law. Unlike the stereotype, she and my husband have very similar personalities so we get along swell. And it’s nice to have her offer to spend 10-20 minutes with the baby while I fold laundry or take a shower.

Pro Term Limits

Also, I heard someone, I’m almost positive it was Dave Ramsey, on the radio say that the only way to get the Fair Tax Passed is to get Term Limits passed first. I am so ready for tax reform. I hate April 15th. So now I’m pro Term Limits. I hope you will be too. We so badly need tax reform.

Social Poverty & My 22-cents on Nationalized Health Care

So we got a letter from the Social Security office letting us know that for every $1.00 we are contributing to Social Security, we can expect to get $0.78 back. How about I let the govm’t just take the $0.22 cents now and let me invest my $0.78 in my Savings Account at 0.5% interest and at least I’ll have made my 22 cents back in 50 years. I could use that money when I am 80.

My grandmother attended a centenarian celebration at the state capitol and I plan to attend one there, too. Hopefully without Nationalized Helath Care, because if I cannot trust the government with a $1 for 30-odd years, how can I trust them with my health?

 

Finally a Stay at Home Mom July 31, 2009

Filed under: About the Author — seekthesethings @ 12:48 am
Tags: , ,

Due to my husband’s crazy hard work and only slightly less crazy school schedule, I turned in my notice to my employer and am now a blissfully happy full-time mom.

For me, nothing really has changed except I no longer feel an ounce of stress about work anymore. I also think I change a lot more messy diapers than I did when I was working, but maybe its in my head.

Speaking of something in my head, my doc changed my depression medication because I was having sleeping issues. It works, but it makes me fuzzy and some days (like today) I feel like the side effects are not worth it.

 

Coming Through a Fog May 23, 2009

Filed under: About the Author — seekthesethings @ 3:40 pm
Tags:

Psychologists note that writers suffer from a higher-than-normal incidence of depression. I have depression. I am coming off a really low low right now. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve never attempted suicide, nor would I ever- I have too much to live for. When Iget low I shut down, I stop writing, or doing much of anything else. I do turn inside myself and I try to read more. Reading keeps me connected to the world without feeling like I am being judged by anyone but my Savior and myself.

I take a very low dose of medication, serotonin uptake inhibitors. They help. I respond very well to medication. But I read an article once about how most people with depression are able to go off their meds after a year and their brain has adjusted to whatever and they are cured. But not me. When I try to be “normal,” without medication, I slowly get worse and worse.

So, I am taking my medicine again, and writing again. Thank you for your patience during my down time.

-A.K.

 

Happy New Year 2009 January 4, 2009

Filed under: About the Author — seekthesethings @ 7:13 am

I will be sharing information about myself in this post.

I like to write. Most bloggers do, I imagine. But I haven’t finished any story I’ve started writing since…middle school? I don’t count the stories I wrote in my creative writing class at college because I wasn’t happy with them. I only allowed the least objectionable to be published in the class anthology (spiral bound at the campus copy shop) because it was required for the class.

I love to read. I can finish a good book in a day or two. I’m like my mom like that. She never read much when I was a kid, because when she did, nothing in the house would get done until she finished the book. I can’t sleep when I am reading a good book. And 4 times in 5 I’d rather read a book than watch tv.

My favorite font is Georgia. I know how to correctly use the word whom. I like to crochet. I love chocolate.

Last year was CRAZY for me! The business where my husband was self-employed was robbed. I had a baby, and a month later I had my gallbladder removed. I followed the gluten free diet until my daughter stopped nursing at which point I gained 5 pounds a month for the rest of the year. I did not return to my pre-baby employer, and I did work at Wal-mart while my husband, whose business was failing was looking for a job that would give us benefits. Our little family moved in with my in-laws (whom I love almost as much as my own parents) with the intention of renting our house while we paid down the debt from the dead business, but then we decided to sell and start over.

I am starting 2009 as a mom – a job I love; as a wife – a job that I consider more fun than work because my husband is my best friend; and a telemarketer – which is a good job for now. My husband is starting a second job next week which will provide our primary income and will pay for him to go back to school. I am very excited about the school thing. It will be good for us. My daughter will learn to walk any day now. I dream about it often, I’m not sure if they are nightmares.

In 2009, I hope to sell our house, move into a new place – debt free except the mortgage; live debt free; lose 20 lbs or more; write a book or two, maybe even finishing one; and definitely finish the blanket I am crocheting for my daughter out of scrap yarn I inherited from my grandmother.

I plan to keep blogging and I hope you will keep reading.

Happy New Year!

 

Introduction October 22, 2008

Filed under: About the Author — seekthesethings @ 1:14 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I’d like to introduce myself, the talent here at Seek These Things. In the tradition of Jane Austin, I’ll be going by A.K. I fiercely value my privacy, and anonymity. I also value my first amendment right to free speech and my responsibility to stand behind what I publish.

This blog will focus on things of interest to me, mainly celiac disease and the gluten free diet; also my comments and insights on religion, politics, parenting, and pet ownership. I’ll also add product reviews from time to time because I like to award excellent products and service.

I’d like to welcome you to my site, and thank you for reading my blog. If you like, you can contact me personally at seekthesethings at gmail.com.