Seek These Things

a blog discussing Celiac Disease, & the Gluten Free Diet, Books, Parenting, Politics, Religion, Pets, Product Reviews, and whatever else catches my interest

Soften My Heart January 7, 2009

Filed under: Religion — seekthesethings @ 5:30 am

I’m reading the Book of Mormon again this year. And today I wanted to share something I found in 1 Nephi 2:16. It was the phrase “soften my heart” that caught my attention.

Let me set the scene. Lehi is a religious leader, a prophet, but not many people liked what he was preaching. To save his life, and the lives of his family, he left his home and his worldly wealth to find a place where they would be safe to worship God.

His two older sons thought he was crazy when he told them about his dreams. Another of his sons, Nephi, would believe him and eventually become the spiritual leader of the people. 

I always think of Nephi as a strong spiritual leader. But today as I read his story, I wondered if at this point in history, as a young man, did he feel peer pressure from his brothers. Did her ever have doubts about his father?

If this was the problem he took to God in prayer, he certainly got his answer. He tells us that the Lord softened his heart to believe the words of his father, Lehi. If he had previously felt inclined to follow his brothers example and rebel against his father, this spiritual experience changed that.

I have also felt confused by peer pressure. I trust that like He guided Nephi, the Lord will guide and direct me to find peace. I hope you will seek peace, and feel a softening of your heart, as you seek direction through prayer.

 

Leave a Reply

