Seek These Things

a blog discussing Celiac Disease, & the Gluten Free Diet, Books, Parenting, Politics, Religion, Pets, Product Reviews, and whatever else catches my interest

Happy New Year 2009 January 4, 2009

Filed under: About the Author — seekthesethings @ 7:13 am

I will be sharing information about myself in this post.

I like to write. Most bloggers do, I imagine. But I haven’t finished any story I’ve started writing since…middle school? I don’t count the stories I wrote in my creative writing class at college because I wasn’t happy with them. I only allowed the least objectionable to be published in the class anthology (spiral bound at the campus copy shop) because it was required for the class.

I love to read. I can finish a good book in a day or two. I’m like my mom like that. She never read much when I was a kid, because when she did, nothing in the house would get done until she finished the book. I can’t sleep when I am reading a good book. And 4 times in 5 I’d rather read a book than watch tv.

My favorite font is Georgia. I know how to correctly use the word whom. I like to crochet. I love chocolate.

Last year was CRAZY for me! The business where my husband was self-employed was robbed. I had a baby, and a month later I had my gallbladder removed. I followed the gluten free diet until my daughter stopped nursing at which point I gained 5 pounds a month for the rest of the year. I did not return to my pre-baby employer, and I did work at Wal-mart while my husband, whose business was failing was looking for a job that would give us benefits. Our little family moved in with my in-laws (whom I love almost as much as my own parents) with the intention of renting our house while we paid down the debt from the dead business, but then we decided to sell and start over.

I am starting 2009 as a mom – a job I love; as a wife – a job that I consider more fun than work because my husband is my best friend; and a telemarketer – which is a good job for now. My husband is starting a second job next week which will provide our primary income and will pay for him to go back to school. I am very excited about the school thing. It will be good for us. My daughter will learn to walk any day now. I dream about it often, I’m not sure if they are nightmares.

In 2009, I hope to sell our house, move into a new place – debt free except the mortgage; live debt free; lose 20 lbs or more; write a book or two, maybe even finishing one; and definitely finish the blanket I am crocheting for my daughter out of scrap yarn I inherited from my grandmother.

I plan to keep blogging and I hope you will keep reading.

Happy New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

